Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I first discovered Lordaeron as a fledgling warrior, prone to wearing mail and even leather because I knew almost nothing about my class, while questing. I was promptly killed by a Hordie. I was flagged for PVP. Who knew?

I was head over heals for this place – PUN INTENDED, MWAHA.

Did I remember this fantastic place from a childhood of watching my older brother play through the Warcraft series?

No sir.

No, I certainly did not. It wasn’t until I texted my little brother about this pretty place I had found in WoW that I realized what this place was.

And by, “realized” I mean, “was very rudely told so”.

Lordaeron is a continent and a former human kingdom (aka Lordaeron Empire) of the Eastern Kingdoms. Its name comes from the three main Alliance race languages: “lorn” (in Dwarven) that means “land”, “daer” (in Common) that means “people” and “ronae” (in Thalassian) that means peaceful. Lordaeron’s Capital City is also called Lordaeron. Originally one of the Seven Kingdoms to emerge during the collapse of Arathor, Lordaeron was ruled by the House of Menethil and provided refuge for the people of Stormwind following that kingdom’s destruction at the end of the First War. During the Second War, Lordaeron spearheaded the first Alliance’s campaign against the Orcish Horde, but was almost entirely consumed by the Scourge during the Third War. This former nation‘s territory is now contested between the Scourge, the Forsaken, and fragmented pockets of human resistance, most notably the Scarlet Crusade and the Argent Dawn. [WoW Wiki]

If you’ve never read the history of Lordaeron, I highly suggest you do. It’s a fascinating story about a beautiful ruin of a city.

 

 

